Claim: There are a number of claims on social media that assert you can see who has been paid to monitor or stalk your Facebook account by typing in the words “Facebook Security” into the Blocking settings page in your account settings.
Date(s) active: Jan 2017
Originated from: Facebook.com
Examples of the rumours can be seen below –
Do you know if you go to your block list and type in “facebook security” and hit block, it gives you a list of the people who are paid to watch YOUR posts.. it’s messed up. And you can’t block them either. I found 8 on mine, other people have found 20+! And you can’t block ANY of them!
OMG!!! WTF??! I thought it was BS…
Do you know if you go to your block list and type in “facebook security” and hit block, it gives you a list of the people who are paid to watch YOUR posts.. it’s messed up. And you can’t block them either. I found like 30!! And you can’t block ANY of them!
The assertion that these instructions will allow you to check what accounts are spying on you is completely false.
Typing in “Facebook Security” into the Blocking settings will merely bring up a list of accounts associated with either of those two search terms (remember, Facebook includes nee names and previously known names.)
The assertion that these accounts are somehow magical accounts that are stalking you seems entirely baseless, and we cannot ascertain why this claim has been made. It stands to reason, after all, that if Facebook did opt to stalk you via paid accounts, they would not allow those accounts to be so readily available to you via a simple search.
To answer the question as to why many of these accounts cannot be blocked, this is likely down to the accounts getting a high number of users blocking them in a short space of time (users who have fallen for this ruse) and thus has triggered a Facebook filter that prevents further blocking until Facebook can investigate.
Similar rumours like this have circulated in the past, including one that claimed by typing in “Automation Labs” (not “Facebook Security”) you can see who is stalking you. That spread back in 2014!
So these rumours are simply untrue.